I may be a tad on the naïve side, but I often work under the assumption that everyone knows a Veteran these days.  If you know a Vet, or see a Vet walking down the street, please thank them for their service.  I did, and I’m out in the middle of the stinking desert in Western Iraq.  First thing this morning I called my wife (who is stationed in Baghdad) and told her happy Veterans Day, and I called my dad, who is a Vietnam Vet, five times before I finally got through

 I guess I never really understood, even after my first 10 years in the Army, why my dad took this day so seriously.  I just saw it another four-day weekend, and saw it as an excuse for my dad and his childhood friend, Shawn, to get drunk.  But, I get it now.  You see, those two grew up together and even went to Vietnam together.  They fought, and lived, and lost friends under some of the harshest conditions imaginable.  Every year, on this day, they get together and drink to memories that few can fathom.  Unfortunately, Shawn couldn’t make it this year, something dad told me has only happened about two or three times in the last 25 years.  One of these days I hope I can join them on a November 11.

 Seeming how this is Veterans Day and all, I suppose I should tell you all about a recent event or two here in Al Anbar.

 Personally, I prefer Blackhawk Helicopters when there is a place I need to go.  Safe, fast and armed to the teeth, it’s the only way to fly.  But, unfortunately (Sorry mom, sorry Cindy) I have to go places that don’t have helicopter pads, forcing me to travel by convoy.  As part of my duties with TF CLEAT (a long Army acronym for Task Force Combined Law Enforcement Against Terrorism) I have the privilege to sit down with provincial Iraqi Army, chiefs of police, Iraqi counter terrorism units, and Iraqi judges, all in the spirit of bettering communication between said agencies so terrorists get prosecuted to the fullest after capture.  If you can imagine, we aren’t always the most popular people outside the wire.

 It was the crack of dawn and I’d been up for hours already, cleaning my rifle, checking my ammunitin, throwing on my body armor, and, most importantly, I made sure my mechanical pencil had plenty of lead.  As a Paralegal, my job is to transcribe the conversation between Army Colonels, lawyers, and whatever the translator tells me the Iraqis say.  It may not sound like much, but, from what I’m told, my transcriptions go directly into the reports that go up the chain of command, reports that have shaped the war on terrorism in this area directly, and I take a lot of pride in that.  I called Cindy, who reminded me that they like to blow up judges, and then off to a convoy brief that told me of all the recent terrorist activity, IEDS and attacks there have been in the last week along the route we were about to drive down to visit some of the most marked men in the province in one of the most dangerous cities in Iraq.  Great.

We loaded up in our heavily armored vehicles and rolled down the road.  For a first time, I got to listen in on the crew’s intercom system.  I always wondered what they were talking about, between the gunner, the driver, the commander, and other designated personnel.  Ever watch Mystery Science Theater 3000?  Same thing.  All one-liners, movie quotes, and discussions about bands.  Apparently, after six months or so of driving down those roads, you start running out of things to talk about.  Good guys.

 I’ll continue this when I’m not nearly as exhausted.  You see, at 5 am I had the pleasure of taking a physical fitness test.  One Soldier asked why we had to do it on Veterans Day, so I told him that Thanksgiving is already booked for a urinalysis.  I thought it was funny.

A couple of days ago, I had the very distinct pleasure of attending the Operation Thriller tour, meeting such authors as Steve Berry, Andy Harp, Douglas Preston, and David Morrell.  All great people to just sit down and talk with and each had wonderful senses of humor.   Notably, Andy Harp is an exceptionally warm and charismatic guy (retired Marine JAG officer), and, Pat, if you’re reading, David Morrell had nothing but good things to say about you.  I’m sure Cindy thought I was being kind of geeky, but I really enjoyed it.

Thank you all for supporting me and Cindy while out here in the desert, we truly appreciate it.

Brad