It’s hard to believe that sometime next week it will all be over.  I will be back in the land of schnitzel and heady beer.  Yes, I’m that close to getting back home.

Until then, it’ll be all preparation for going home.  Of course you want to get things done quickly, but some of us are way more eager than others.  Like this morning when someone thought ahead and had all the locks changed this morning on the building we still live in.  Imagine my face when I got locked out.  But, it was well-timed by the Fates because it had been a hell of a night.  I won’t bore you with the details, but there was an event (no correlation with the new TV show) that got me thinking of every negative thing that has happened over the last 12 months, and add that to me burning through a calling card leaving messages on answering machines as I tried to get hold of my son (whom I haven’t spoken to since before Thanksgiving).  I didn’t fall asleep until sometime around 4:00 am.

After I got done throwing a tantrum and feeling sorry for myself, I started to think more on all the very good people I have gotten to serve with out here and the very good things that I and we have accomplished.  Who would ever guess that a guy from small town Iowa would be shaking hands with Iraqi judges and the commanders of counter terrorism units.  I set out to be part of history (for the better) and I have done that.  And all without being shot at or hitting an IED during a convoy mission.

I plan on doing some writing tonight on Immolate…

And my Green Bay Packers stomped the crap out of the San Francisco 49ers, which is nice.